Birthdays

L is 20 today, and Dad would have been 87 so, since it's the first birthday since he died last year, I went to see Mum in the morning. After a (dry) celebration brunch with L, I had a snooze, having still not recovered from yesterday's outing. In the evening I picked up a good set of main courses from a nearby Italian restaurant, and we made a start on the wonderful "chocolatey-but-not-sickly-rich" cake that K made yesterday [see extra]. I then side-stepped the family Zoom meeting by taking Django out for a walk in the Estate. It was strange to see it damp again, after all the fine weather. Although there were bluebells in the Serpentine Wood, I chose my photo of the horse chestnut flowers near the House. After a few glasses of wine, my control with the ball wasn't so good - although it was genuinely a bad bounce that took it into the river! Django retrieved it enthusiastically, but an over-enthusiastic throw later saw the rope wrap itself around a small branch, high up in a larch: game over!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.