View From the Top

I was inspired after our Zoom chat with Walking Wombat on Friday evening  to get out and walk the moment I had my clothes on. WW is up and out on a hike to see the sunrise every morning as part of her new fitness regime. It turns out that  I saw the sunrise myself this morning but only by accident as sunrise is definitely not my thing.

John, much more of an early bird than I am, decided that he was going to go to the grocery store during the dedicated  'senior hour' at six o'clock this morning. He was quite chuffed to have the store to himself except for one bagger and one checker. I was less than chuffed when Ozzie, roused by the activity, decided he needed breakfast and a walk.. I took this picture of the lower slopes of Wildwood Mountain covered in vineyards from the road at the top of our field. The white encampment visible through the trees is our house, or perhaps John's covered tomato plants; the land roof structure is John's garden shed (as opposed to the pump house which is on the lower level with the house).  The grey buildings next door are our neighbor's barn, or shed, or something....

Despite the fact that my eyes were barely open and I was barely dressed, or at least not in street clothes, it was a beautiful sparkling morning after quite a bit of rain in the night. What with the virus and the odd hours and the fact that we hardly ever see anyone, it's surprising how many things I have been perfectly happy to do in my pajamas lately....

I'm posting a picture in extras of a rain filled pothole for Lady Findhorn, just to let her know that Edinburgh may not have a corner on the badly maintained roads market.

Although I am very grateful that I am more or less unaffected, I can understand the anxiety to get things reopened and back to 'normal' on the part of the people who have lost their businesses, their livelihood and their incomes during this shut down. I can even understand the feelings of frustration born of boredom and cramped quarters, among others. What I can't understand is the growing chant in some quarters of, "Nobody can tell us what we can or cannot do. We're Americans, we can do whatever we want. This pandemic is a hoax and wearing masks is bad for you..." and on and on. I am an American too (though sometimes I am loath to admit it) but nationality has absolutely nothing to do with a virus which anybody who pays even the slightest attention would know. Unfortunately they ARE paying attention, but to someone who, though he is more self serving and ill informed than anybody, is in control of the government. 

In this country I feel that we ARE all this together, yet, more realistically, we're each on our own. There aren't enough answers yet....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.