PlainJane

By PlainJane

Off to School

Here is my 16 year old granddaughter on her way to afternoon school.
She is in Year 12, which 'back in the day' ( as she would put it) was the Lower Sixth.

54 years ago( it seems like yesterday) we still had to wear uniform in the sixth form,we carried a satchel or briefcase and our headmistress would have had apoplexy if she had seen those long painted nails.

They don't show in the photo, but the headphones are in the ears - tuned in to 'Pride and Prej.' and the mobile is handy as always.

It is a dry day, therefore there is a coat and boots. You see, if it was wet there would be NO coat and little ballet pumps. (Bless her!)

My granddaughter is not particularly interested in hearing about my O Levels and A Levels, but she loves to learn about my boyfriends when I was 16, and the Youth Club 'Hops.'

What changes will she see when her grandchildren are sixteen, I wonder.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.