secret garden

By freespiral

The tide...

...was out when we wandered down to Rotarai late in the afternoon. Way way out! A multitude of birds were feasting in the estuary including three spoonbill which was very exciting, the first time I've ever seen them in the wild. We wandered over the sandy, muddy, shelly flats as far as the sculpture on the horizon. The flats continued. A bit like I imagine Dungeness or Chesil beach but with added mountains. Actually probably nothing like either! Breath-taking anyway.

Schools opened this morning and Esme went off to Nursery with her lunch box. Apparently there was a full quota of under 2s. I am in awe of the carers for they manage to feed them, play with them, change nappies and fit in a nap! I haven't heard how she got on yet but she went in happily.

Other than that I got some netting and canes for my veg patch and had a stroll down the street of Takaka. The sun was shining.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.