Grubby's Blipfolio

By Grubby

The hunt for a Dartford Warbler update

Well the hunt for the Dartford Warbler was a total success. I was lucky to find them at 2 different sites on Sussex heathlands. Obtaining a photo was another matter. Nevertheless an obliging male Stonechat, that was obviously annoyed with me because I spotted his fledglings nearby, sat high on a perch berating me. I took a couple of shots and left them well alone.  There seemed Stonechats everywhere today....they have obviously over wintered well. I have added a nice male Chaffinch as well. Other birds of note were a Woodlark, Siskin, Hobby, a Nuthatch feeding its young and some brilliant Yellowhammers. Total count on the trip was 27 birds. My total for the year is now 124.

122: Common Tern (last night while beach fishing)
123: Dartford Warbler
124: Siskin

I did hear some others but never confirmed the ID. There is always tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.