Sefferdog

By Sefferdog

GBH Exit - Stage Left

I bought a 100-400L lens about a month ago, and didn't like it. It didn't seem to focus correctly, didn't focus well in low contrast situations, very soft, and I felt something was just not right with it, so I sent it back.

After stewing on it, and from so many other glowing recommendations, I re-ordered it. Had it out yesterday and today, and while it gets an occasional good shot, it is not nearly as sharp as my 70-300L. It doesn't focus nearly as well, and the shots all have a softer look. So.... it is going back again, and my curiosity has been satisfied that this is not the lens for me.

I will stick with the 70-300 and may give the 400 prime a go here before too long, as I do want more reach and prefer not to fool with extenders!

Here is the best of today's - a great blue heron fleeing the scene after I startled him - and he startled me - as I was walking down to the water's edge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.