bananablip

By bananablip

Carbs

There was a moment this morning, whilst tucking into some leftover pizza for breakfast, that I realised  that I need to rethink my relationship with carbs. Delightful as they are, and necessary as they have been as a comfort in difficult times, it's obvious that what has been happening for the previous eight weeks of lockdown can't continue. 

I had a screen slump at lunchtime and wise Clare Mason encouraged me to get out of doors. So I did. I went for a glorious trail run down and around by the river and it was delightful. I don't know why I even run on roads any more as the experience is far less enjoyable. It seems I'm too lazy to go the extra km or so to reach the trails. Even though we're all basically working flexi-time now that we are working from home, I always still feel guilty for exercising in the middle of the day. It feels so naughty and indulgent. 

My carb free dinner this evening was ginger, garlic and chilli stir-fried greens with some smoked mackerel. Bonus was finding out that you can still get sprouts in May. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.