Gills Lap - After the Fire

A quiet day at work meant that I had the boss's permission to get away early this afternoon, mainly to take some accumulated rubbish to the newly-reopened tip. It also meant that I was able to take a stroll up on Ashdown Forest afterwards, in today's bright sunshine.

I took the opportunity to check out the site of Saturday night's fire right in the heart of 'Pooh country'. I was relieved to see how well the fire crews had managed to contain the fire to such a relatively small area (visible to the left in this photograph), avoiding fire damage to any of the legendary 'Winnie the Pooh' sites such as 'Galleon's Lap', 'The Heffalump Trap', the memorial to A.A. Milne and E.H. Shepard - or even the trees I once helped to transplant more than 40 years ago now, beside the car park at Gills Lap!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.