Whose Feather?

I threw off the quilt last night,
already too hot in May.
It seems some bird has done the same
with its downy feather.

I'd like to bet it dropped in flight,
its white arrow pointing This Way.
Perhaps it was an owl, but who can blame
the moulter in this warm weather?


© Celia Warren 2020

I'd love to know which bird this feather came from, even if it might mean tweaking my poem. My guess is an owl, but haven't found any online help, so far. A couple of sites identify a handful of common feathers, but not this one. It was small enough to qualify for the Tiny Tuesday challenge, with thanks to Wendy for hosting.

The wind was a bit gentler today, though still not quite warm enough for sitting out. And, joy of joys, our local garden centre has reopened. They've set it out very well, with a one-way system. They ask people to take a trolley, even if they don't need one. It, by default, creates the desired distancing. At the check-out, you have to pay by card at a table some way from the till, where you leave your trolley to be totted up.

Didn't buy a lot, but it was so good to be able to get the few things I wanted - including some long support canes, and some little French Marigolds to put bugs off approaching my veggies. Another lovely day!

Thank you so much for all your lovely comments, stars and hearts for my yesterblip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.