audreya215

By ClassyChassis

More than a Souvenir

I’ve done a few projects during this pandemic. This wasn’t one of them. I found this ‘coin pendant’ many years ago when we were clearing the family home. Curious about the what & why of it, I dropped it into an old plastic box. It’s been sitting next to my PC ever since.
So yesterday I finally searched Google.
It’s a vintage Swiss 5 franc.....and I had my Aha moment. My family’s ancestry town is Appenzell Switzerland. And the coin includes the profile of ‘Liberty’ with an ‘alpine herdsman’ on the reverse.
I guessed that when my sister visited there (in her college days....way many years ago!.....) she brought this back for my Dad. A call to her confirmed my thought and it’s now softly wrapped to include in a package I’m sending to her in Seattle. Just another short journey on its trip around the world.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.