Bogbean

We were back on the Mortonhall golf course so paid our respects to the Elf Loch again. This time it was swarming with tadpoles (extra photo), we watched closely as there appeared to be a murmuration of them - literally thousands streaming together, joined by tributaries of them, swirling round and disappearing into the waterlily patch.

We revisited the pond (extra) with Bogbean (Menyanthes trifoliata) and I was able to step down for closeup photo of a new floral spike (main pic). 
Reaching the end of the fairway we exited the golf course, turning south towards Mortonhall, but passed this lovely farmhouse (extra) - I am drawn to this long frontage, having visited the site of my grandfather's early home, which had a similar footprint. Local stables use the surrounding fields for grazing the horses, I do like a dapple grey (extra). 

From here we aimed for the main path past Mortonhall, which brought us back to the Buckstone estate, relieved that from here it was downhill all the way home.

Although dressed for this perfect summer day I was too hot as I am wearing support hose at present, to control problems with my lower legs. If this fails I shall have to grit my teeth and call the surgery for advice.

On a different note, I congratulate Captain Tom Moore, now to be Captain Sir Tom Moore, conferred with a knighthood for raising over £32,000,000 for the NHS by walking circuits of his garden before his 100th birthday. Well deserved.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.