Blips by cb

By cbimages

Sunset snap

This wasn't me, either behind the camera or at the controls.  I've flown this model of aircraft, but no one has bothered to sit alongside with a camera to record the event :-)

I received the photo from a visiting friend, an engineer who worked with General Dynamics, although not on the F16.  I scanned the photo today with some difficulty as it was larger than the scanner.  I had to use a stitching programme to put two separate scans together, but you can't see the join.

My friend added this to the story:

'The image was made by my acquaintance and fellow ISAP member (International Society for Aviation Photography) Judson Brohmer with some significant effort.  He shot it from the back seat of a USAF Test Pilot School F-15 after conceiving the shot and putting the mission together.  The F-15 was in poor shape and one engine was prone to blowing out the afterburner on quick acceleration - forcing repeated attempts to stay with the Viper. The shot was made on the last possible zoom before dark. He was employed by Lockheed Martin at the time so I was able to obtain a print to gift Chris when we visited the UK.   Judson died a little over year after making this image when flying safety/chase photo from the back seat of an F-16.  The chase pilot followed a malfunctioning test store into a hillside near China Lake in July, 2001.  Judson's widow, Alyssandra, produced and had published a gorgeous coffee table book of Judson's extraordinary output of stunning inflight photography.  This image is the cover photo.  It appears to be out of print; I recommend it if you can find a copy. "Breaking Free, The Aerial Photography of Judson P. Brohmer." '

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.