Skyroad

By Skyroad

Necklace

I found this while walking in the derelict golf course in Little Bray, and wrote something about it. I originally called it 'Necklace', but changed the title to 'Apotropaic', a weird word I know, but I think accurate. It refers to something that averts bad luck or evil spirits, such as a cross or a sign to ward off 'the evil eye'.

        APOTROPAIC

On my daily, distanced walk
through the unfinished car park
and derelict golf course
 
beside the river –– sunk
shopping trolleys decked out
in sepia weeds –– someone,
 
a child or maybe one
of the more reflective grownups,
had taken time
 
to assemble on the gravelly dirt
this loosely oval enclosure
of rough stones: Palaeolithic
 
daisy-chain, waypoint –– a sign
appreciated because
unlooked for, calm as a closed

daydreaming eye

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.