Jamjaragain

By Jamjar

First time climbing outside since 8th December and it was great. 

The BMC have said we can climb with one other, with extra care, well within our grades and with social distancing, and it is possible. 

I met Mary at Bamford Edge and we limited ourselves to Mods and Diffs, routes that we've soloed previously but which today we climbed with plenty of protection. We arrived at 9.30 am but by mid afternoon it got too hot, and of course we were tired, so we packed up. A lovely day.

I know it's midweek but the parking wasn't full and there weren't many climbers, there were far more walkers. 

On another note I'm wondering if both Mary and I have suddenly aged! As I was waiting for her to set up the belay I heard someone asking her if she needed any help..... she may be 69 but she's a very experienced climber, and while it's kind to offer to help I couldn't help thinking that no help would be offered to a 20 something bloke. Then, when I was leading the last route and appeared at the top, a young man almost rushed towards me asking if I was alright.....!!!  I'm afraid my immediate reaction was to say "Yes, why?" They sat down while I set up the belay and we had a  lovely chat, and perhaps we've changed their opinion of grannies! Perhaps it was just the concentration showing on my face.

Good to get back into leading without the adrenaline rush, let's do some more. Think I might be aching tomorrow :-) Two extras.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.