My topsy-turvy life

By Rathmandu

You're so mean!

...because I told him he had to hold my hand to walk down the big stone steps, not on his own.

After a bit of a slow start, Aaron and Louisa went over to the farm while Owen and me got the trains out*. In the afternoon I went for a nice bike ride with Aaron, down to Meole Brace then up through Sutton Park and home through the Quarry -with a walk up Porthill. We got home to Owen running around in the garden.

Owen has started getting very, very restless at night. He wakes up crying and then takes ages -especially for me- to settle down to sleep again, after screaming and writhing, to the point where one of us has to take him downstairs and almost invariably spend the night on the sofa with him. Last night was my turn and I think I ended up with about three and a half hours sleep in total.
It seems to have started since he came home. Maybe he got used to being in the same room as Louisa and now waking up in the dark, on his own upsets him. Maybe it's because I've not been around for six weeks and he's only had his Mum to soothe him that he gets so worked up with me trying to get him back to sleep. Maybe he's just going through a phase. Whatever it is it's not very nice for any of us. I just hope he gets through it soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.