What the deuce?

By the time I emerged from my proposal-writing hole the sun was setting but there were various characters still around. Some here on the tennis courts on Christ’s Pieces were taking advantage of the new rule around recreational sports with one person from another household. Unless the courts were occupied by one very fecund family.

I ate snacks on a bench and caught up on my ‘correspondence’ with various folks including Hannah on the exciting day she trialled her kayak for the first time.

An evening reminiscent of those light, warm-ish summers spent in Cambridge over the years. On such evenings I’m usually to be found picnicking with friends, although it seems very few people are taking advantage of the inter-household social distancing that’s now permitted. It might be a few weeks before I can rouse any of my usual picnicking buds to meet. I hung around outside until the air became chilly and strolled back to the house in flip flops. I’d like to say I didn’t have to continue tinkering with the proposal but this would be incorrect. We’re just about on course to make it for the weekend submission. As an aside, it feels like sadism that a donor deadline would be on a Sunday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.