BernardYoung

By BernardYoung

We Don't Do Zoom

‘Everybody needs an internal shed that you go to
and you do your thing in there.’
- Chris Difford

We’ve spent week after week
in a room with a view
of the sea. Keeping ourselves
to ourselves still seems like
the sensible thing to do.

Occasionally we reach out from our room.
We don’t do Zoom but we email.
We send texts and try to be kind.
We speak on the phone
and ask people if they’re ok.

Earlier today I zoomed in
on a couple of seagulls
which set me thinking about us
and other couples
who make their beds 

and lie in them
and how we, and they,
are all the stronger for doing so.
We get through stuff, together.
It was then

that my internal shed
opened its doors
and beckoned me in.
I took the seagulls
in with me.

On the workbench was a mess
of words:

hours, shed, email
phone,  texts, seagulls, workbench, room
week, beds, couples, zoom

As usual I scratched my head
and wondered what on earth
I was going to do with them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.