The Way I See Things

By JDO

Love heart

The Large Red Damselflies have really settled in to the garden now. Males were patrolling both ponds for much of the day, and occasional territorial disputes broke out. I was able to get in close to this couple this morning and photograph their mating wheel, but I had to go back to the house to take delivery of a parcel before they finished, and I didn't see whether the resulting eggs were laid in the wild pond or not.

I was pleased to spot a couple of blue damsels down in the wild garden this afternoon, though they were less pleased to see me, and I wasn't able to get close enough for photos before the Large Reds chased them away. As R pointed out though, it's still early in the season, and there should be plenty more opportunities for me to stalk them.

I had been thinking of going out after dragons today, but for one reason and another the morning slipped away from me, and by the time I was free it was too hot and sticky for me to want to trudge around sunny places with heavy gear, so I stayed home and did a garden safari instead. I found some nice bees and hoverflies, a fourteen-spot ladybird, and a tiny longhorn moth, among other things, so I was pretty satisfied with my 'bag' for the day. Somehow though, the evening has slipped away from me too, and I've barely touched my processing; if I find any nice shots when I look at my files tomorrow, I'll post them to Facebook.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.