My charges!

Last year the Bristol Council Parks Department admitted they couldn't look after the rose garden at Blaise Castle Estate and therefore would be happy for me to attempt to look after it for them.  Last June weeds covered the plants but very luckily a group of lawyers (wishing to have a bonding time) came and spent the day weeding.  Since then it has all been up to me - dead heading, cutting out dead wood, hoeing endlessly, edging the grass, mowing etc. etc.  There are 6 huge beds for the different colours.  The apricot ones are few in number and I've taken lots of slips and they are growing well but I can't replace them until the autumn especially if this weather continues as I have no access to water except in cans and for well over 100 plants that is not feasible.

There are also two large herbaceous borders (filled with goosegrass, brambles and bindweed) to deal with.  I am blessed with having this all to look after, finding it gives me purpose to my days during these difficult times.

For those interested in yesterday's remains (exuviae) of the dragonfly nymphs the extra is a picture of an actual nymph which left my pond today for a quick sortie.  He/she is one of the predators of my tadpoles

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.