To illustrate

Sadly, today was the first day of the lockdown that I haven’t been out. I was too determined to break the back of the funding proposal that has to be submitted this weekend (deadline is Sunday, which is sadistic of the funder). Despite some IT glitches (why is it that Microsoft programmes love to whirr and freeze on deadline days?) by the end of the day all that’s left is to faff around with some tables, proofread and submit. 64 pages, but it’s manageable. And then I’ll likely drink gin. I’m not a habitual drinker and thank goodness about that as with my lack of self-care it would all be downhill pretty fast. One of my colleagues joked that it was a win that we ‘haven’t been doing all-nighters.’ This week feels far from a win. I keep banging this drum, but if it wants its staff to have more balance, the NGO sector (leaders, funders, general mindsets) must collectively address the very pertinent question of what is reasonably possible in a working day. To win money to do projects, which is what we’ve been working towards this week, shouldn’t require the railroading of normal life. It shouldn’t feel quite so imbalanced. Resources are scarce so everyone competes, and donor processes can be so exhausting with slim chances of being successful. Something’s gotta give. Of course individuals need to look out for themselves, but sector leaders should also try and instigate healthier patterns for the workforce.

I always like to see the spoils of Gugs’ artwork. She’s good at rustling up wildlife illustrations.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.