janescanlan

By janescanlan

Grandad Cyril

Awful news today.
My grandfather suffered a massive stroke this morning. He's 90.
I last saw him on 27/12/2012. I kissed him goodbye and told him to take care of himself.
I spoke to my mother earlier. They're very close. My mother had a stroke in September. She's recovering well.
He'd had five appointments at hospital for various things yesterday. It took all day. Mam said they'd gone to bingo last night. She'd told him off for going as she thought he was overdoing it. He laughed and she told him he was a stubborn bastard. He won. I don't know how much.
On the way home he admitted he thought the day/evening had taken it out of him. She told him to get home and rest.
I've spoken to my sister. He can't speak. His eyes are closed. He can hear everything. He can squeeze your hand with his left hand. The right side of his brain is damaged. His heart is working at only 50% capacity. He can't move.
I love him dearly. I hope he goes quietly in his sleep, peacefully. He deserves that much.
Goodnight Cyril, Jx.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.