Journeyman

By AFoolOnTheHill

Cracklin' Rosie

Another day when I won't be leaving the house due to lockdown, gale force winds and heavy rain. An overdue wine order arrived this morning, I usually only drink wine on holiday, however, I don't expect to be in the south of France anytime soon. 

My son's wife was taken into hospital last night, they're due their first child so hopefully we will have something to celebrate later on today.

My album of the day is "The Queen is Dead" by The Smiths. The album contained some of their strongest and memorable songs, my favourite being "There is A Light That Never Goes Out". Johnny Marr's jangling guitar was the perfect compliment to Morrissey's lyrics, their originality was making sounds no one else was making at that time. A defining album, it remains as fresh today as it was in 1986.

On this day in 1974 I saw Kiki Dee and her Band in concert. She was an impressive vocalist, don't think she ever got the recognition she deserved. Her popular song at the time was "I've Got the Music In Me".

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.