The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Caen Hill (Friday May 22nd 2020)

High up on my list of places to go on my government approved exercises was the Caen Hill lock flight, as I hadn't been there since mid-February and would normally have been there three or four times by now. I learned from blipper Number147 that otters had been sighted in the locks this week and she had even glimpsed them herself - reason enough to visit at the earliest opportunity, never ever having seen any in the wild.

I parked that evening at the bottom of the flight and was surprised to see so few people around. I found the exact spot at the optimum time and sat overlooking the pound but although there were signs of fish underwater, I didn't see any evidence of mustelids. A rabbit grazed close by on some grasses and I chose a shot for my blip because although I have blipped hares I think it is a first time for a rabbit.

It was a perfect evening for a walk and I strolled up to the Moorings and back to the otter pound half an hour later, just to  check. There was a heron, fishing in the bottom pound, that I got a few shots of before it grew angry at my spying and flew off squawking. I have put three shots in Extras including one of the yellow flags that were there in profusion.

I may try again soon.

So much better resolution in Large (Gallery) view

L.
22.5.2020 (1412 hr)

Blip #3225 (#2975 + 250 archived blips taken 27.8.1960-18.3.2010)
Consecutive Blip #020
Blips/Extras In 2020 #76/265 + #043/100 Extras
Day #3710 (840 gaps from 26.3.2010)
LOTD #2354 (#2195 + 159 in archived blips)

Caen Hill Marina series
Devizes series

Caen Hill, 22 May 2020 (Flickr album)(Work in progress)

Taken with Nikon Coolpix P900 (24-2000mm equivalent bridge camera)

Lozarhythm Of The Day:
Oasis - Whatever (recorded 6 December 1994, live on Later With Jools Holland)
This was played out on BBC2 from the archive tonight, chosen by Dizzee Rascal, reminding me what a great performance it was. They also played I Am The Walrus that night.

One year ago:
Zoo Trip #66: Hawk Conservatory Trust

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.