wingpig

By wingpig

ventilation shafts

uploaded 2020-05-23

I still remember the keen anticipation with which this was awaited, based on the promise of the trailer which we would happily wait several minutes to download through the internet witchcraft of the uni computing labs, especially having recently had the original trilogy back in cinemas. The flat I lived in at the time would rumble occasionally, which I usually thought to be due to a passing bus or lorry until I realised it was the rumbling of the films in the Odeon round the corner, from whose queue these people were from.

My room in this flat was quite small, with the bed on a shelf. The living room was massive but was hardly ever used: it contained a non-working telly and a sofa and a coffee table which I made but had forgotten about until I looked through these pictures, though I remember the flat quite clearly. At one point I borrowed Chris' keyboard and Simon's computer and bass and there was still loads of room in the living room. The kitchen was big and airy but the oven put me off baking for several years. My bike fortunately survived being locked to the railings in the square for the few months I was here.

Whilst the release of The Phantom Menace allows me to bluntly pinpoint the date for these two frames the others from the same reel might not be exact, but I'll put a few up either side. I don't have masses of free time during Covid-19 lockdown but one task I shall try to creep forward is the sorting-through of old printed photos (previously out of reach in the storage unit) and their matching-up to dates through the use of tickets, receipts and bank statements.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.