Sad News

.... . I found out that the Tui was euthanized as his wing was too badly broken. They said he wasn't a young one but a very old boy called Joseph. He had lost lots of weight that is why the neighbour thought he was a young one. Joseph was a important bird as he was the oldest Tui still alive from the first birds that were reintroduced here on Banks Peninsular in 2010 from a island.. Can't remember what it's name is. He was known in the area as a fusty old boy. 

The lady visited me this afternoon to bring the towel back and to give me a leaflet on feeding and inviting the Tui into the garden. Also to check I am doing things right.. Which I was. She is going to bring me information on all the birds that have been tagged and their names. So when I am here to try and identify them and let the trust know which ones are visiting my garden as they like to keep a record of them.

When I was taking out my bins this afternoon I meet my new neighbours that moved in January. They live in Christchurch and I seemed to have missed them each time I was here. We had a good chat. They seem really lovely.. I would say similar age to me. He is still working but they hope to be able to live here once he retires which maybe at the end of this year.

Sure has been a cold day. No wind and no sun. Rains on its way. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.