Beefy Lorelei

By beefylorelei

Slightly overwhelmed (surprisingly)

This is One Up.

It was an independent record shop in Aberdeen.

I say was as it closed its doors at 7.30ish tonight.

I went in to say thanks. Fred and his guys and gals have been selling our products or a long time now.

Never questioned it, they never said no. They were always enthused to take our stuff.

Anyway. I went in to say cheerio and thanks. Cheeky bottle of nice wine and a card..

There has been a grieving process going on in certain communities since this was announced. Understandable but, for me, sometimes a little insincere.

I didn't grieve . A bit sad? Yes. But it seemed planned not forced in a way. They have run for 33 years and, I've no desire to know the ins and outs, but it appears that One Up is going out with dignity.
I felt happy it was a choice that they had made instead of being completely forced out.

Well that was until I went in tonight..

Fred spotted me as I came in along with another guy, Andrew. Briefly spoke and then I wanted to buy something. Vinyl seemed fitting. I was then very suddenly overwhelmed with what was happening to this place.

I mean. My 1st purchase from One Up was a demo tape from a local band called "Another Wild Rose".

We have played in the shop numerous times and then I was in front of our own CD's on the shelf along with all the other Fat Hippy Records Stuff, I had to fight off a tear or 12. That's a bit of a silent privilege, looking at something you created on an actual record shop shelf. (Wish I'd asked if I could have had the plastic name thingy you get between CD's)

So.... In short (or long)

I got totally smacked by sentimental stuff this evening and I wasn't expecting that.

Congratulations ONE UP for a fantastic career.
You were ace!

Thanks for looking.
B

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.