Folkie Booknerd

By Folkiebooknerd

Happy Birthday, Bob Dylan!

Bob Dylan is my ultimate musical hero. I believe him to be the greatest songwriter of the 20th century - and he’s released some incredible songs in this century too! (He’s also had a few quality control issues over the years, of course, but that’s very much in keeping with his essential, contrary, Dylan-ness.)

Today is his 79th birthday and I’m excitedly awaiting the release of his 39th studio album, ‘Rough and Rowdy Ways’, on 19th June.

The album has been proceeded by a couple of unexpected singles, notably ‘Murder Most Foul’ which at 17 minutes is the longest song he’s ever released and which, last month, was his first single track to ever reach number one in the USA! You can hear it in all it’s glory at www.youtube.com/watch?v=3NbQkyvbw18 

There have been several photographers who’ve taken particularly good portraits of Dylan over the years, notably Elliott Landy, Barry Feinstein and Daniel Kramer, but some of my favourites were taken by Ken Regan in 1975 on the legendary Rolling Thunder Revue tour.  

Today’s Blip is my cover-version of one of those shots, the ‘cup and bucket’ shot, taken in Toronto that year. You can see the original at www.snapgalleries.com/product/ken-regan-bob-dylan-cup-and-bucket/?portfolioCats=51454 

I’ve also included an Extra shot to commemorate the first time in my life that I’ve ever bought a face mask or a kohl pencil... honestly, the things I’ll do in pursuit of a decent Blip! 

And here’s Bob, rocking this look, performing ‘One More Cup of Coffee’ on the Rolling Thunder tour www.youtube.com/watch?v=ujgqOgMIwfA 

Many Happy Returns to His Bobness! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.