wrperry

By wrperry

Brand New

I noticed this doe in the yard early this morning, reminding me that I haven't seen many deer this spring.  I went about my business, had breakfast and went for a long walk.  When I came back I could catch a glimpse of her in the corner and she appeared to be licking something.  I got out the binoculars, and didn't see anything except her lying down.  Then it was time for lunch and I sat in my usual seat, which I had claimed years ago because it offers the best view of the feeders, and any yard action in general.  The noticeably thinner doe was walking across the yard, at quite a distance, but I was sure I saw a flash of orange fur.  That couldn't possibly be a fox, and we don't see many cats.  You guessed it.  A teeny tiny fawn was following  behind.  I think that baby was born this morning, and was trying out those wobbly legs.

As you can see, our yard is enclosed by a fence.  It's only four feet high so it doesn't prevent deer from visiting, but it is high enough that it will be difficult for the fawn to leap over.  I had an incident a couple of years ago where little Leo chased a penned in fawn and the mother came to the rescue.  It was scary for all involved.  I'm going to preempt a repeat performance by leaving the gate open, but I hope I get another photo opportunity (with more sun) while they're here.  You never know what the day will bring!

Have a wonderful weekend, and thanks for stopping by.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.