Home Turf

I hardly slept at all last night. I often find that after college- whatever has happened seems to go round and round in my mind. Plus knowing I have to be up early after so long is always tough- especially as I didn't turn the light out until 1am...

When I got there, it felt strange and I didn't want to be there. The ten of us who will be running Year R met in the hall, chairs in a big circle all a metre apart. I just sat and listened for the most part, and tried to contain my anxiety. 

Afterwards, we all went to the two classrooms, and honestly, it was like going home. I haven't been there for over two months, and it felt good to step back. Luckily being a tidy person, there wasn't a whole lot to do in making it Covid 19 ready.... we did pack up all their cushions and teddies to put away for now, but apart from that, just a general tidy up and wiping of surfaces. 

My colleague and I have been on the phone the last two weeks- the first to speak to the parents of the new children for next year, this week their nurseries. We managed to split the classes while we were at school today which ticked a job off the list.

It was so good to see everybody, and it lifted my mood. No good can really come from two and a half months of limited social contact and a huge deviation from normal life, and it felt good to have a purpose again.

I went home, Facetimed Looby-Doo and had a bit of a play, and then relaxed for the rest of the day. 

My tutor returned some more work but I'm slightly afraid to open it...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.