A Special Gift

A friend asked that Patsy and I join her for dinner last night. After a wonderful meal and conversation she said she had something for us. This is what she had for me.

I learned about this photograph of my father, taken in the late 50s or early 60s, from another friend about a year ago. It measures 28 by 33 inches so it's very large. I knew it would be difficult to obtain because it was displayed at the local phone company building for many years. After my friend inquired about the fate of the photo, she was given permission to give it to me.

My father committed suicide on Feb 4th, 1968 at the age of 44. He served in WWII in the Battle of the Bulge. The memories and pain from that war haunted him every waking hour. He had a 4th grade education but worked his way up in the phone company from pole climber to engineer.

I tell you this so that you can understand the importance of this gift. I will eventually give it to my brother to enjoy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.