A New Favourite Place

This was a tough challenge. In the past I would have chosen:
Valentia - holidays with my family, beautiful scenery, tales of King Brian, Guiness in the pub, cliff walks, crabs claws, Skelligs, chocolate, memories past and memories to make.
The beach - listening to the waves, sand in between my toes, wind in my hair, salt on my lips.
The Hermitage - dense overgrowth, towering trees, crashing cascading waterfall, echoes in caves.
The Museum with my Dad - wonder, excitement, knowledge. An archaeologist at peace.
The garden with the kids - playtime, fun time, laughter and love, hide and seek in the bushes, snuggles and cuddles.

But the scope shifts and, for the moment, the chances of doing those things and going to those places are slim to non existent. In our new normal we find new favourite places and this has become one of mine.

Daily walks, sunshine, breezes, chats and laughter, politics, quizzes and a bit of counselling. I'm so grateful that we thought, as lockdown loomed, to move back with my mum. I'm grateful that my 16 year old has been mature and pleasant through this and gracefully accepted living with his Granny.

I love this view. A view of my childhood. A view of my adulthood. A view of nature and nurture and family and love. I realise how lucky we are to have this view. I know many just now do not have such a view. I think of them!

Stay safe and do as the extra suggests...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.