05.26.12

tonight, while continuing on my late night walk, i found myself in the middle of a near riot. i hadn't planned on taking this photograph -- i was simply enjoying the street performers and other various loiterers that also happened to be at union square park at one in the morning. but when i saw a swarm of police, 150 or so, first encircling us and then fanning out to create a human barricade, and all without so much as saying a word, i had to reach into my bag and snap this. they were darkly intimidating and nearly everyone was confused, myself included. this is the third night they've done this.

i like how he's looking at me, even with the video cameraman directly in his face, as if somehow i'm more of a threat in my girly dress and burlap duffel.

the city of new york has deemed illegally this public park to close at night, a ripple effect caused by occupy wall street. this says a lot about the fear the state currently has of its people. from what i understand this park has never closed, not even after 9/11.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.