Lizimagiz

By Lizimagiz

Sea Caves - Split Apple Rock Beach

This evening I drove over the hill and along some twisting roads then down to the small car-park that services the Split Apple Rock Beach. There is a very long downhill track to reach the actual beach, lots of steps and board walks, all extremely well maintained.
Split Apple Rock is a famous landmark along this coast and is featured in a lot of advertisements publicising New Zealand. It is usually photographed from a boat on the seaward side.
It was a very low tide down on the beach and evening was drawing in. Although I photographed the Rock I was fascinated by the sea caves along the adjacent cliffs. They are only accessible at low tide. So in I went..scrambling over rocks with tripod and electronic remote. It was magic in there....I will return!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.