Socially distant

The long awaited house photographer came at 10am for a couple+ hours, during which time we had to remove ourselves. We did a minor food shop and then sat with a newspaper and flask of coffee on top of the Long Mynd, listening to skylarks singing their hearts out ... and various parties (one of eight - am I starting to judge?!) coming and going.

I hope the poor quality blip gives lovers of physical geography a good look at a periglacial landscape. The ice sheet didn't cover the distant hills of hard volcanic rock completely leaving the characteristic 'whaleback' shape. But the Mynd where we were sitting is made of softer stuff so got flattened but also has deep river valleys at its edges from glacial meltwater. I find it interesting; my mum would've loved it - she was always pointing out different topographies on car journeys (of course, us kids in the back would roll our eyes but secretly I liked to know!).

Back home by 12:30 and the rest of the day has been recluttering ;-) Two things have gone AWOL (a sofa throw and the tray I keep the washing up liquid etc on) but I expect they'll turn up sometime. Not bad really.

Berry has been highly confused by today and has behaved accordingly, but a month ago she'd have been so much worse. I wish I could explain why her world was turned inside out and back again - us humans do such weird things! Tomorrow will be devoted to calming down exercises :-)

I'll catch up with you all very soon ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.