Ricspics

By RicsPics

Joyous Song

Getting on top of learning a new solo - this is Joyous Song by Richard Phillips, it’s a brilliant Salvation Army solo. I was inspired to learn it after listening to a recording by a player called Philip Cobb, who is in my opinion the finest cornet player I’ve ever had the joy to listen to. This photo gives a little insight into how I go about rehearsing a challenging solo. The little pad has the different sections of the music down the left column and the columns to the right are the different tempo’s - so once I can complete section 0-107 at tempo 80, I move up the tempo until I’m eventually playing at the correct tempo of 160. I do this across all sections of the music and then put it together. Almost paint by numbers style! I’ve nearly mastered this one and thinking of recording it in the next week or two.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.