Border Tails

By Swannie

Tweedbank Station.

I’ve bought a bike!

More correctly, I’ve bought an electrically assisted bike. The man across the road has had one for a few months and goes back and forward to his work in Galashiels on it, so I took the plunge and ordered one online. It came the other day and I got it all adjusted and charged ready to go. This morning, I finally plucked up the courage to give it a go. It’s possibly close to 30 years since I’ve been on a bike, so I went up to Tweedbank Station car park for a practice.

I was amazed to see how empty the car park was at half past nine on a weekday morning. By this time, it’s usually full with many cars also parked in the industrial estate across the road. Lockdown is definitely still on here.

I recorded my wee trip on my Apple Watch and I cycled nearly four kilometres, which I thought wasn’t bad for a first attempt. I really did have “jelly legs” when I got back home, but hopefully I go a bit further next time.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.