pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Downstream

It is so easy to forget sometimes about how lucky we are and how we should make the most of what we have right in front of us.

Too often we can lose ourselves in far flung aspirations “I wish I had this or that / I wish I lived there” etc. Essentially, your classic “the grass is always greener” type stuff.

Over the past couple of days and with a little assistance from my children, I have come to realise that if I head DOWN river on my daily sojourn, the grass IS actually greener. Furthermore, despite having lived in Kendal for the neck end of fifteen years now, I had no idea (or rather had never bothered to explore) that there was such an area of outstanding beauty on my flippin’ doorstep and all I had to do to be amongst it was to head a small distance South!!

By doing this, I have been able to capture some lovely little natural moments that I would otherwise have missed. For example, I can’t recall having seen an Egret before and I certainly don’t know when I last saw a swan with its cygnets. I can categorically say that I have never been in a position to capture a swallow feeding its young, like I did here.

Moreover, one of the main reasons I am delighted to have found this particular stretch of river adjacent to wide open fields, is because it reminds me so much of where I grew up. It reminds me of days spent fishing with my friends, talking nonsense (not much has changed in this regard) and worrying about nothing more beyond watching a float gently bobbing up and down on the ripples

Incredibly lucky to have this beautiful mystical time portal right on my doorstep and to have the time to appreciate it.

Stay healthy. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.