Garden secret

Ben and I noticed a blackbird with building materials fly into the vine which is growing against the house at the weekend.  At the time I couldn't see anything but today I could...

This was taken by holding my phone over my head looking down on the nest and I couldn't believe it when the photo revealed beautiful blue eggs.

I'm very twitchy about the blackbird's decision to build her nest in our garden and in such an accessible place.  I must have looked at where I know the nest is 50 times today whilst also trying to check what the cats are doing, and the dog.  They are currently oblivious.

Apparently the chicks hatch after 2 weeks and are fed for 2 weeks before fluttering to the ground and hiding in nearby cover as they can't fly.  I'm already really worrying about that last bit!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.