deer

I walked away from the Trans Canada Trail down a steep bank into an area of skunk cabbages and devil's club. I went in search of several trees that were draped in Old Man's Beard. Early morning. I was alone. No people on the trail. Cougars came to mind. I looked behind me. I search the trees overhead for a cougar sitting on a large branch. Nothing! Quiet and only me making noise walking on dead branches.

A week ago we walked a forest service road just off the Trans Canada Trail. We met a woman on horseback. She told us to turn back because a cougar was stalking her. We turned back.

Cougar came to mind because I was in the same area as the woman on horseback. Then I came upon a deer carcass. Cougar bait I thought. I kept walking. But again I looked behind me for a stalking cougar. No cougar. I made it around the swamp. I did not see the Old Man's Beard hanging in a tree. I returned to the trail.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.