My Great Success Story

By SavvyStereo

Freddy

A few of Ivan's friends from home have stayed with us over the last few days which has been fun. A few of my house mates and these guys have formed a new band and recorded some tracks with Freddy (pictured) as the front man singer/songwriter.

We went along to the open mic night in channies bar, our student union pub. Ben (Ivan's friend), who does a lot of slam poetry, asked if I wanted to play some guitar along with his poetry. With barely a rehearsal we went up on stage and just jammed. I played some bits and pieces of acoustic percussive fingerstyle I've written/learnt and he read his poems over the top. I was amazed at how well it went together and I've not heard much like it before. We agreed to do it again at some point, perhaps even do an improvised recording session. Interesting!

On after us was Freddy who played a couple of his songs which sounded great, though a little quiet in the noisy bar.

Afterwards, as it's a Thursday, we all went to Georges/Andreas/Ben's house for some poker. There ended up being 10 of us! A long game. In a repeat of a game the night before, I was so low down and ended up coming back to take second place. Not bad!

I've just had a session of some fairly serious backblipping to complete my January. This is my favourite.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.