ferryoons

By ferryoons

Knotted

Another long hike to get the steps in. It's interesting, if I stomp rapidly through the woods I first have to keep my eyes on the ground so I don't trip over tree roots. Second, I don't notice my surroundings much at all.

If, on the other hand, I saunter then I certainly do notice:
- the hum of insects, for the first time this year
- the wind turning leaves on the branches
- the aroma of fields, damp soil and I think, fungus, warming in the sun
- trees like this.

It's alive and flourishing, four separate trunks splayed out at wide angles. But obviously it has a past, another shape, other branches grown up and left home. Makes me think of boy scout instructions for tying a reef knot. Right over left, left over right.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.