Mary is good at taking photos of me when I'm not expecting it. 

Bamford Edge again today and I'd got ten routes in mind... not that we'd any chance of doing that many before mid afternoon, when the sun is full on so it's too hot and the gritstone stops being grippy.

We only actually did three. Two of those I've previously soloed, but today I found I couldn't lead them in spite of trying really hard, and they were both Mods!!! Luckily it's usually the case that if I can't do something we'll swap over and Mary will manage it, and vice versa. 

The third route was a Diff and I lead it with no bother at all. Mary had climbed it before and had fallen into the oak tree that's half way up. Today she stood on it's convenient branch and stepped over to the rock. I was about to call out "Is this where you fell into the tree?" when the rope suddenly went tight as she fell into it again! It was sooo funny and I roared with laughter. Thank goodness she wasn't hurt, but we definitely need to practise tying off the belay. There was a group of four young men doing Gargoyle Flake next to us who could've perhaps advised us if necessary, but that won't always be the case. 

On the way home I stopped at Calver crossroads and treated myself to a Magnum, my favourite and my first ice cream this year.

p.s. that is not my gear all over the place.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.