Sue Foll's picture of the day

By POD2008

Heston Services on the M4

My car is old but not as old as this one.

I hadn't driven it since well before lockdown but today was the day to get the AA.

The last mechanic who looked at it advised a good long motorway run. After we replaced the battery I headed off down the M4 with my bottle of water and egg and tomato sandwich.

Unfortunately they are making the M4 into a 'Smart Motorway' which to my uneducated eyes looks like, putting a barrier where the hard shoulder used to be and making the remaining lanes much narrower. In addition, Margaret Calverts lovely road signs had been removed as had any means of exiting the road.

I took a U turn at around Swindon and headed back, finding a slip road near Bracknell where I could stop and swig some water.

I stopped at Heston Services mainly to check wether it was still there.

It is a new world we now live in.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.