Grubby's Blipfolio

By Grubby

Macro road trip

As the day was sloightly cooler but still bright I thought a macro road trip was in order. There are a few sites within a 30 minute drive of me where butterflies, moths, dragonflies and damselflies abound. Alas the weather was still warm enough to keep the dragonflies airbourne and constantly whizzing around. Luckily the damselflies are not so agilebut even so I struggled to find more than a couple of different ones. The only decent shots were of these Blue-tailed Damselflies. Bottom right shows one that had caught its lunch and was happily sucking out the juices...yuck. In one meadow there were several Burnet moths flying around.I presumed these were Six-spot Burnets as I had photographed them before but on getting home and having downloaded them I discovered this one was a Five-spot Burnet. This is hard to ID as it has an almost identical cousin in the Narrow-bordered Five-spot Burnet. Unless I am corrected on the sites where I have posted it I am going with my original ID.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.