A well travelled frog

My neighbour went to the tip today with a huge sack of garden rubbish.  When he got back into the car he found this frog sitting beside him on the passenger seat.  So I was asked to give him a new home.  He leapt into my pond and lay stretched out hanging onto the edge for quite a while.  It must have been a great relief for it was terribly hot this afternoon. Later he was to be found hiding underneath a piece of drift wood which is there to act as a ladder to aid exit from the pond

In the extras is my blackbird who was pleased that I had watered well last night. He worked his way through a flower bed with a youngster and finally flung out a slug onto the path.  He swiped it to the left and to the right and twisted it on the rough ground.  Finally he picked it up and flew away.  I didn't know birds ate large slugs - perhaps it is a matter of needs must when the ground is too hard to find worms.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.