Brimstone And Ginger

I spotted the mating pair of fairy longhorn moths in my extra this morning when, sadly, I didn't have my macro lens with me. Their ginger heads, which give them their scientific name, can just about be seen.

Male brimstone butterflies are calming down at last and are much easier to capture now they're not after 'just one thing'. :) I've got such a lot of pleasure from this stand of red campion near my old propagating house and it was nice to get the butterfly enjoying it before it fades. I love how their wings match the young green growth. I'm familiar with sulphur, it used to be called brimstone, which gives the butterfly its name. My father and MrQ used to burn the yellow powder in glasshouses to kill pests and diseases.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.