Flight terminal of 1900's

An old airport terminal of Tampere was in use between 1936-1979. Operating still as I was child.
I remember some summer trip, as we sometimes went bicycling, me and mom, and stood watching planes there, standing behind the fence, over the large grass area.

The last flight took off from here as 1979, as a new terminal was built in Pirkkala. This airport area was too small for big modern aeroplanes too near of crowing city - and as the railway near there become electric, the landing route become dangerous.

But the old terminal building still is there!

In there is still parachute club hobby activity, but the building is in awful condition. As it still is there, I wonder if it is somehow protected historical place..? (edit. I just found out that this building is protected as historically important at 2013 but any money for it's renovation has not yet been found.)


Susanna

Ps. I found some shots from this place, as I remember it (of course we had no money to fly anywhere.) Flying was so expensive at the time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.