Pop

While I was desperately looking for something entertaining to watch on TV today, I came across "The Bride Came C.O.D" on the classic movie channel.  The movie starred Bette Davis, James Cagney and my grandfather, Harry Davenport.  It was made in 1941 when Pop, as he was known by everyone, was 75 years old.   He was a stage-trained actor in the late 1800s and gained a reputation as a consummate professional in nearly 140 movies of the late 1930s and early 1940s.  He always played somebody's grandfather, a judge, or some notable supporting character such as the old prospector in this movie.  He died when I was about nine years old.  Sadly, I didn't have much of a relationship with my father's family.  There are a few pictures of the two of us together but I really have no recollection of him at all.  Everything I've ever read about him described him as a fine gentleman who always knew his lines.

I put a picture in Extra from this movie because its of him with a crow and I'm going to imagine that he probably loved them as much as I do. 
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.