Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Some days are better

Today my friend Melody and I attended the funeral of our friend Jackie.  In 1977, Jackie was the office manager for customer service at the electric cooperative that hired Melody and myself to work there.  Melody was hired in June, I was hired in July.     Not only was she our boss, she became a life long friend.   I saw her last August and even though she was in a wheelchair, she was still herself.   We laughed about the good old days!      

Her daughter and son both told us that Jackie felt like her  "girls" were her family.    We felt like she was a big sister.  She was so very special to Melody and I.     She will be missed.   

Jackie's sister, Bobbie, was at the funeral also. She also worked at the electric company with us.    She is 92 and is still active and doing well.   We made plans to meet up with her in a  month or so for lunch.   

I can tell you there was much hugging going on.   It really did not matter that it may not have been the right thing to do.      It was  BEST thing to do. 

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.