Frogs

I love Silly Saturday and I'm not giving it up no matter how serious things are. (Thank you for hosting admirer.)

It was a beautiful, warm day today so, having learned my lesson during the holiday on Monday, I stayed in the woods. Someone built this cairn and Samuel decided to check it out and something about the picture strikes me as silly but, since he is in it, sweet. 

I don't think I have ever heard so many people so supportive of rioting. Things have changed when such a large percentage of people recognize that things are not ok, rage is appropriate, and peaceful protest was not working. I really am still hopeful that we will come out of this period with a more just society, but I recognize that may be the Trekkie in me. I do feel a little stupid for not anticipating rioting, and not anticipating that it would be based on more racist violence. 

The end is not yet written. 

And now, total tone change:  I saw so many frogs I lost count. I saw deer. I watched squirrels play and chase each other and listened to birds that were so close by I felt like a Disney princess. I saw a turtle hustling along. I saw a raccoon! 

I drove the new car. It has quarantined for three days to ensure any virus is inactive. The driving part is not at all difficult. I was worried it would be hard for me, post-accident, but it is only modestly different and I am so much better. I may have had to work on not gripping the steering wheel too tightly. 

I am so grateful to have healed so much that learning this car does not worry me (anymore) and that I can look straight up overhead and see birds wheeling about. 

I am working on taking pleasure in the moment. My mother-in-law joked a few weeks ago that so many people are in the moment that it is getting crowded. 

Toy extra:  My school has some dear rituals associated with lanterns and owls. Someone has an Etsy store selling these little necklaces. Elizabeth Warren did not go to my school, but she is so smart that I think she would have liked going there and I think the school would have been a great place for her, at least when I was there.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.